An interesting article on Kony 2012 and shameless news site endorsing

This is going to be a brief post, I just wanted to share an article on Kony 2012. Al Jazeera is one of my favorite news networks because they do a good job of avoiding bias and are available in a variety of languages. This article on the Kony 2012 video is written by a professor who researches in Uganda which makes him more qualified than a lot of the opinions floating around on the internet. It’s great to want to help people, and I wouldn’t want to discourage that, but it’s important to be informed.

The article makes a great point that an important step to helping others is to learn. As embarrassing as it is to admit I couldn’t point Uganda out on a map. How in the world can I expect to make a difference when I understand absolutely nothing about Uganda. It’s a lazy and self-indulgent form of activism. Another point the article makes is to look at how your actions are encouraging the conflict. A great way to help is to not make things worse. With all of the information at our disposal we really don’t have any reason to be such uninformed consumers.

So instead of donating to the Kony video, I’m going to work on staying more informed about world issues and try to pay attention to where I spend my money. Money speaks, but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. Hopefully my quest to be a more informed consumer goes well. I’ll let you know.

Best wishes!

Caitlin

PS: Check out the article for yourself (and if you want brief news updates I’d suggest following Al Jazeera on Twitter) ->

Dangerous ignorance: The hysteria of Kony 2012 – Opinion – Al Jazeera English.

Talk to Me

