Return of the Blogger

Since I disappeared from the blogging habit for a bit, I’d like to provide a brief glimpse into why I’m coming back to blogging. I started blogging while I was in college, it was useful for chronicling experiences and reflecting on the different ideas I was discovering. Then I graduated and stopped learning new ideas so it seemed pretty pointless.

Kidding! In reality, or at least my reality, I found the whole transition to the real world more trying than anticipated, and definitely trying in unanticipated ways, so the blog fell to the wayside or maybe it was under the couch (I’m not a very neat person). It managed to go way down on my priority list, which I definitely feel was a mistake because I truly enjoyed the creative outlet and the blogging community. I’d considered coming back before, but it seemed so awkward. Like when you haven’t called a friend for a while and know you should, but the longer it takes you the more strange that initial call will feel. It reminds me of this scene from Sherlock.

Sherlock: giving social cues for awkward people

Me after not talking to someone for an awkward period of time.

However, I’ve decided to suck up the awkwardness and return to blogging. I’m going to participate in the Blogging 101 course in the hope it’ll give me some good ideas and get me back on my feet. Right now I’m a bit more on my butt. I almost wrote “on my knees,” but I know how perverted the internet likes to act.

I’m not entirely positive what my blog topics will be. Probably posts inspired by my life or the lives of fictional characters (I read a lot…I also watch TV a lot, but I don’t brag about that as much). I’m currently working a real life full-time job where I assist a police department’s domestic violence unit. Sometimes life gets a bit jaded and gloomy, so I’m really excited for the creative outlet I hope blogging will provide. I have two cats, a couch, and some vegetables in my fridge. My life is semi-together. I’ll most likely write about what my friends and I like to call adulting. It’s something I’m working on. I also like nerd culture and incorporating an insane amount of TV references and images I find on Pinterest into my blogs. If you stick around, maybe we can see what crazy writing I get up to together. I’m looking forward to rejoining this lovely blogging community.

Best wishes,

Caitlin

4 thoughts on “Return of the Blogger

  1. Dominique Smith says:

    I love this. Your writing is really chill and kind of relaxing. I am glad you are back in the blogging community and I hope you do well 🙂

Talk to Me

